WHY I WRITE

I write to live the many lives I never got to live, and the ones I know I’d never get to. It’s because I want to do and be everything. The potential of this world is limitless, but time is limited. And so, I can only live life through my stories and characters

In writing, I can be a lover, I can say things I could never say to people out loud. Through the stories I write, I can make the boy who wouldn’t look at my direction see me.

I write to note down my emotions and understand my feelings. I write to capture a moment in time. A person I used to be. The person I am. To go through the metamorphosis of my thoughts.

I write because I observe. I write, because I read.

I write because, for so long I’ve been swimming inwards into myself. The deeper I swim, the more I discover. And now I’m far too gone and I don’t know my way back to shore. The only thing left is to write the snippets I discover, hoping one day, I can learn to breathe both under and above water. Hoping one day, I conquer myself enough to navigate easily through the two medium and discover a way to easily swim back and forth. But for now, I’m drowning in my depths, and the things I find within myself, are the treasures that manifest into the words I write. They’re the treasures that keep me going.

Leave a comment